The Post Screen is used to create new posts or edit existing posts. The default post screen (Posts -> Add New) will look similar to the following image:
You will notice in the screenshot that the title of the screen is Add New Post. If you were editing a previous post, the title would be Edit Post, but everything else on the screen is essentially the same.
The screen is broken down into modules, each with their own purpose. The three most important parts of the post screen are the Title of your post, the Editor (where you type your content), and the Publish module.
The Publish module is very important because it’s where you save your posts, publish them, and preview changes. The module will change depending on the status of your post. Here is the default Publish module:
After publishing a post, the module will look like this:
Notice how the Save Draft button has been removed and the Publish button has been replaced with Update.
Other support pages will go into more detail on each of the modules and different areas. See Related in the table of contents area at the top of this page.
Configuring the Post Screen
The Screen Options pull down can be found at the top right of the screen. When you click on Screen Options you will see a set of modules that can be set to show or hide. To make one of the modules show on the screen, just check the box next to it.
For more detailed information on screen layout see Screen Options and Modules.